KAROSHI (death from overworked)

Posted: December 3, 2014 in Uncategorized

It was my rest day and I’m planning to buy a new book to read, something like a leadership and motivational book. Upon roaming around the bookstore I grab a book entitled “The power of doing LESS by Fergus O’Connell ”, the hardcover of the book looks so boring it has a plain white back ground and the font style and color look so common. But there is something in the book that I want to find out.

The intro starts with a quotes, and some short stories…

When I’m in the middle pages of the book I found the word “KAROSHI” a Japanese word means death from overworked.

The book relate it with a this short story:

It is about a hardworking father who died at his early 30’s and holding a higher position in a Toyota company. This man has no history of any diseases, he found death in the middle of the night in his office. According to the doctor, the causes of his death is stress and heart related problem. Based on his wife her husband is overworked and not having an ample time to rest.

I can relate with his story,

In my previous job , I work 12 hours a day sometimes and I work even on my rest day (well it is my choice of leaving late and work at Sunday’s) because that is me, I enjoy what I’m doing. I make it sure to put my 101% to make the job done.

But few months pass by I forget my family gathering, birthday of my friend, seminar that I want to attend and watch the latest movie. I chose to sleep and relax during my rest day because I know I had to face another tiring week.

I’m so much “in love” about my work to the point that I forget myself.

I’m listing down my top 5 personal guidance in avoiding overworked and how you will enjoy it:

  1. First things first- When you sit at your workplace station be sure you have the list of what to do on the day and prioritized what is urgent.
  2. Learn to woke up early- there is a cliché that the early bird catches the worm, well that is true when you set your body to woke up at 6 a.m so be it. I assure your entire day will be very productive.
  3. Don’t be too serious when working- you must learn how to enter in a conversation when your office mate tells a joke or sharing a stories. We think it destructs us but you will see a good result. This conversation while working enables you to energize after a long shhhh… moment while doing your work. You feel meditate afterwards.
  4. Healthy lifestyle- Don’t be complacent on drinking too much coffee while at work just in moderation. Grab some fresh fruits and eat healthy foods, If you are healthy inside you produce excellent performance outside.
    1. Be organize- too much papers to read, review and approve is a headache for most of us. Make a time to sort out unnecessary things and organized them. You didn’t notice that you consume a lot of time looking for a missing paper that is front of you.

    *Organized yourself- All of the abovementioned tips will not be possible if you didn’t organized yourself well. Your work and how you work reflects who you are even if you are at home.

    I experience that kind of problem, I tell myself that today I will clean my mess and I will maintain and make it a habit. I prove to myself that “I can manage myself well”

    For those students, young adult and professionals whose job requires a lot of time give yourself a break once in a while and think happy thoughts even if you are stress from work.

    It’s like a game (learn it’s rule), you know first the mechanics then proceed to the process on winning the game but upon finishing it don’t forget to pamper yourself physical and mentally.

    Now who says that working hard is bad?..

    It’s a matter of choice and information

    I hope you never quit your job after reading this hehe…

    Just enjoy the moment and coach yourself so that you can coach others too.

Leave a Reply

